Shoot the Buffalo wins the American Book Award


I found out yesterday from Matthew Stadler, editor of Clear Cut Press, who called me while I was busy drawing a business process flow chart in a building near the Renton S curves that Shoot the Buffalo was selected as a winner of the twenty-seventh annual American Book Awards for 2006.

The prize is awarded by the Before Columbus Foundation.

The Before Columbus Foundation will present the awards at a ceremony and reception in late September. The American Book Awards, established in 1978, recognize outstanding literary achievement by contemporary American authors, without restriction to race, sex, ethnic background, or genre. The purpose of the awards is to acknowledge the excellence and multicultural diversity of American writing. For a list of past winners.

More on the Award

Three Area Debut Novelists Earn Natonal Awards
Three Puget Sound area writers — Karen Fisher, MacKenzie Bezos and Matt Briggs — have received national awards for their debut novels. — John Marshall, August 10, 2006

A note on about the prize at the Stranger’s Blog.

Here is a PDF [1.5 mb] of last year’s brochure.

American Book Award Winners 2006

MacKenzie Bezos
The Testing of Luther Albright (Fourth Estate)

Matt Briggs
Shoot the Buffalo (Clear Cut Press)

David Diaz
The White Tortilla: Reflections of a Second-Generation Mexican-American (BookSurge)

Darryl Dickson-Carr
The Columbia Guide to Contemporary African American Fiction
(Columbia University Press)

Thomas J. Ferraro
Feeling Italian: The Art of Ethnicity in America (New York University Press)

Tim Z. Hernandez
Skin Tax (Heyday Books)

Josh Kun
Audiotopia: Music, Race, and America (University of California Press)

P. Lewis
Nate (Back House Books)

Peter Metcalfe
Gumboot Determination: The Story of the Southeast Alaska Regional Health Consortium
(SEARHC Foundation)

Kevin J. Mullen
The Toughest Gang in Town: Police Stories from Old San Francisco (Noir Publications)

Doris Seale and Beverly Slapin, editors
A Broken Flute: The Native Experience in Books for Children (AltaMira Press/Oyate)

Matthew Shenoda
Somewhere Else (Coffee House Press)

Carlton T. Spiller
Scalding Heart (Nuyorican Press)

Editor’s Award:
Chris Hamilton-Emery, Salt Publishing Ltd.

Lifetime Achievement Award:
Jay Wright

Comments are closed.
%d bloggers like this: